Picture
Yes - IF you are willing to train in their use and practice regularly.  A woman who had been training in the martial arts for a couple of years started training with me. 

She said her husband had asked her how long she was going to keep training.  He said "how long does it take to learn this?"  Her reply was that personal defense is not like algebra - you don't learn it and you're done.


That was a few years ago, and I realize now that it IS a bit like math.  You have to learn the process, drill it until you can do it, and then you have to maintain it.  I took calculus in college.  I learned the terms and theory.  I drilled on the required problems and took the required tests.  20 years later, I remember doing it, but I can't even read the problems any more.  I can still add, multiply, and figure area because I have regular need of such skills.

Personal defense is like that in a way.  If you want the skill, you have to maintain it.  It doesn't matter if the method is a punch or a gun.  maintenance is crucial.

If you can get a gun and legally carry it, you should.  You should get a license to carry a concealed weapon if possible.  Get proper training.  Then remember to maintain your skill.  There's a lot more to it than point and shoot.  If you just want an easy crutch to avoid the work of learning to protect your family, you should skip the gun.  It's really all about YOU.
2/21/2010 01:27:21 am

What? A gun isn't the end-all, be-all? :) Thanks for the reminder and advice that no matter what technique you choose we should keep our skills sharp. Which reminds me...

Reply



Leave a Reply.